The story

The Decision 35 championship, officially named the VULCAN TROPHY, was created in 2004. It was then called the Challenge Ferrier Lullin, later renamed the Challenge Julius Baer. The winner of the first edition was the team Zebra 5 headed by Etienne David, with a young team from the Centre d’Entraînement à la Régate de Genève (CER).

Since then, Nicolas Grange and Loïck Peyron on Okalys-Corum, Ernesto Bertarelli on Alinghi, Pascal Bidégorry on Banque Populaire and Michel Desjoyeaux on Foncia have won and made the history of this key Geneva Lake championship.

Other great names such as Russell Coutts, Alain Gautier and Franck Cammas have written some of the most beautiful pages of the history of the circuit.

This championship perfectly fits into the continuity of the Lake Geneva multihulls’ competition tradition, which goes back to the 80’s. Before the launch of the Décision 35 in 2004, the “Formula 40” was the queen category on Lake Geneva, regrouping innovating prototypes constantly developed by passionate and visionary personalities.

The Vulcain Trophy and the D35 are the outcome of decades of innovations and research on Lake Geneva (see the book by B. Schopfer (2009), La formidable saga des multicoques du Lac Léman. D’Altaïr à Alinghi).

In 2011, the Vulcain Trophy proposed a new challenge: races in the Mediterranean sea. At the end of the season, the D35 raced in the South of France, where two Grand Prix were organised, in Beaulieu-sur-Mer and in Antibes… The experience turned out to be very positive for the D35 boats, which appreciated the salted water very much!