Press releases

No less than six races have been sailed in the bay of Geneva during the first day of the Grand Prix Grange & Cie. The races offered a lot of surprises and the provisional overall ranking has undergone significant changes during the day. Top three after day one: in first position, Jérôme Clerc on Realstone Sailing, Philippe Cardis on de Rham Sotheby’s, and Nicolas Grange, on Okalys Corum.

Beautiful first day of racing for the Grand Prix Grange & Cie which takes place this weekend at the Yacht Club de Genève. The penultimate stage of the Vulcain Trophy, presented by Business & Decision, started in fantastic conditions. Except for a few raindrops in the early morning, a 10-knot wind has been constantly there, however very shifty, which gave a bit of spice to the racing, as for organizers than for the sailors.

The Race Committee has had to restart a new starting procedure in the second race after a major wind shift. From the coast, the public could follow the races. Binoculars were not even needed!

On the water, the atmosphere was tense and very challenging for many competitors. The races were more interesting than ever. Five out of nine competitors have won one regatta today. De Rham Sotheby’s won two races. The second race was won by the host of the Grand Prix Grange & Cie, Nicolas Grange, skipper of Okalys Corum. Realstone Sailing wins the fourth race, while Alinghi takes victory in the last race of the day. Artemis Racing did win the fifth regatta, but just failed to win a second one, because of a mistake (missed a buoy and had to return). See you tomorrow for the second day of the Grand Prix Grange & Cie which promises to be sunny and looks already equally interesting and fun !

Provisional ranking :

1. Realstone Sailing – Jérôme Clerc (11 points)

2. De Rham Sotheby’s – Philippe Cardis (18 points)

3. Okalys Corum – Nicolas Grange (18 points)

4. Zen Too – Guy de Picciotto – Fred Le Peutrec (18 points)

5. Alinghi – Ernesto Bertarelli (19 points)

6. Ladycat – Dona Bertarelli (21 points)

7. Artemis Racing – Torbjorn Tornqvist (25 points)

8. Veltigroup – Marco Simeoni – Boris Lerch (28 points)

9. Nickel – Fred Moura (41 points)